I Need help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I Need help

I am new to this forum and I'm not a very good mechanic. I have 2 Scout IIs, a '73 with a 345 AT and an '80 with a 345 3 speed manual. My problem on the '73 is: When I drive it for a little while it will cut out and die and then I can't get it started again until it cools down ( like overnight). Like I said I am not a good mechanic and I can't figure out what the problem is. Somebody told me it might be the vaccum advance but I have no idea of how to fix it.
    If anyone knows what the problem might be or have any suggestions they are willing to share with another IHC lover please respond.
    Thank you,
    Bryan:confused:

I would first check the coil. see if it is hot to the touch when it quits. I have had this problem many times and that is usually it.
    Al

Comment

Thanks Al, I'll try that when I have time to run it. If it is hot what do I do? Buy a new coil? How much are they and where do I find them? Thanks again Al.
      Bryan.

Comment

A hot coil is a sign of it being bad, but on an IHC, it is sometimes hard to tell a hot coil from one that is heat soaked by the engine.

Another way to check the coil is to remove it and shake it. If you hear liquid sloshing around inside, the oil hasn't leaked out, which is good. IHC's are notorious for leaking the oil out of the coil, the lack of the oil causes the coil to overheat, and lose efficiency. This lower efficiency causes a weak spark which can lead to a stall, or poor running.

The description of your problem is classic for a coil that has leaked out the oil.

Binderin',

John
        : beer : Diamond power! : beer :
        If you have never used a search button.... DON'T POST!

Comment

Thanks John and Al,
          It is nice to know that I can come on here and get such knowledgible advice from real people such as yourselves who are not trying to squeeze more money out of dummies like me.