New to internationals

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to internationals

Hey guys, I am new to international rigs and I am just wondering a few things about them...

Are lift kits hard to come by for scouts or are they a common item? I dont have a scout yet but I really want to build a not so common off road machine with around 35" tires. Can a scout handle that much rubber?

I have a step grandpa who sees international rigs as the best there is, are they that tough compared to fords and chevys or is that just a personal preference he has? Is there any factory flaws or certain parts that go bad on these vehicles that I should know about?

Right now I have an 88 Blazer with 33" tires and it is getting beat up. I am hopeing that interntional trucks are a little tougher, but I dont know. How do their engines compair to the more common brands?

Let me know what the ups and downs of these vehicles guys because I have a feeling that I will have one in my driveway in the near future if they are as good as I hear...

Thanks everyone
    :)

Re: New to internationals

Originally posted by Aaron Boley
    Hey guys, I am new to international rigs and I am just wondering a few things about them...

Are lift kits hard to come by for scouts or are they a common item? I dont have a scout yet but I really want to build a not so common off road machine with around 35" tires. Can a scout handle that much rubber?

Yes there are several lift kits but to handle 35's you will need a spring over lift or four inch springs and a body lift. Even then you may still have some issues.

I have a step grandpa who sees international rigs as the best there is, are they that tough compared to fords and chevys or is that just a personal preference he has? Is there any factory flaws or certain parts that go bad on these vehicles that I should know about?

He is correct and the only thing they seem to suffer from is rust in certain places.