No announcement yet.

Change or Not to Change - That is the ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Change or Not to Change - That is the ?

Bill usn 1 it was nice meeting you at the RMIHR, but since we have talked I have a few questions.

I have been running a Holley 2D for about 3 years and have never had any problems until this year. I just recently lost an injector. It was easily replaced since I found a spare.

I have a 73 Scout with a 345, Mild Cam (Schneider 15-100), Holley Projection, 4.09 gears, 33x12.50 BFG/MT, Jacobs Ignition, Pertronics Ignitor. I average about 13 mpg. I have done some research on mpg increase with adding FI but I need to here what those of you with IH motors are getting with the GM FI Set-up….

I have a bug in the back of my mind about changing to the GM set-up (Thanks for that one Bill). If I could get my scout to average 16-17 mpg I would drive it everyday….. So- the question will I see big enough change to move from the Holley system to the GM controlled System. What improvements would I see with the GM over the Holley.

Brian
    Last edited by Brian Tucker; 07-31-2003, 11:20 AM.
    Brian Tucker
    Bennett, CO

Hello again,
    If you have a working FI system I would not be in a big hurry to change it out. You really won't see any imediate gains.
    I wanted FI and chose the GM for the control and price. (300 for mine 1,000 for Holley)
    When the holley works it works fine. But fuel is only 1 part of the equation.
    Spark is a big part and that's why I like the GM system.
    You could tune the holley to work just as good as the GM, it will just take a little time.
    If I drive slow, I can break 16mpg. But I don't drive slow!!!!

You will need to get a distributor spring/weight kit. I think mallory and accel sell them. Try summit or jegs. Just don't ask for IH they will probably say no. Or try to find a speed shop that recurves distr's.