Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie with a 196

Hi,
    I am new to this whole fuel injected thing - trying to make sense of it all. We have a 78 Scout II 196/at/ps/pb no ac. It is in fantastic shape - we are planning on shoring up the minimal rust (for a scout) this summer and driving this as a daily driver/camping rig. We had the carb adjusted this summer to correct run-on, and replaced the gas tank due to a top leak. It seems though that we are getting worse gas mileage (~ 11mpg) than our old 384 scout (which was sold for parts last spring :-( ) which got around 15 on the highway. All in all, we think switching to fuel injection is probably smart and more environmenally friendly, so here I am. I have been looking over the board and the faqs - and maybe I'm just so unfamiliar with this to not know what's what, but where do I start? I tried to read the "TBI Tips for IH" but it was a dead link. Does that go through the general "parts needed" and "do this"? Or do I just go to the "mall" look at a 4cyl late 80's S-10, and assemble the parts similarly onto my scout? Or are there any recommended books/articles/etc. to help me get my feet wet so that the parts-specific links start making sense? Sorry to be such a dummy. Thanks for any help.

Re: Newbie with a 196

Originally posted by Grrlscout
    Hi,
    I am new to this whole fuel injected thing - trying to make sense of it all. We have a 78 Scout II 196/at/ps/pb no ac.